Advice and Confessions

Day 24 Accountability Challenge

It’s only 4:00 in the afternoon and I am already writing this blog. This is what I was talking about yesterday, by having my afternoon off again, I have found more time. Time to get the things I normally am rushing to get done at 8:00 p.m., done. It’s a great feeling and I knew I missed this but didn’t realize how much until now.

My day usually consists of getting up at 5:20’ish, to have some “me” time before the kids get up and the hustle bustle of the morning begins. I drop my daughter off at school about 7:30 and then it’s off to work for me.  I like to get places early. When I feel rushed or feel as if I am running late, my anxiety heightens. So while I don’t have to clock in until 8:00, getting to work at 7:30 gives me time to grab my 2 poached eggs and 2 slices of bacon in the cafeteria, get a cup of coffee and a cup of my favorite chewy ice and see what my day looks like, all before the phone starts ringing or I have people stopping in with questions. I am a morning person, I function so much better in the morning than I do later in the day or even night.

Waking up to catch a glimpse of the sunrise gives me a sense of calm, knowing that every day the sun rises, so do I. And on the other end of the spectrum, I love sunsets too. Watching the sun set on the horizon gives me a sense of accomplishment most days.  Not all days, but most days. Knowing that every day I am doing the best I can and the next day will be a different set of “best I can’s.”

Being able to get up each morning, knowing that I can choose how I want my day to go, is a new level of awareness that is finally sinking in. Setting my attitude in the direction of gratitude has been huge for me. There are most certainly days I don’t want to get out of bed to face the day, but those days are rare for me.  Most days I get up after saying my three gratitudes, and I look forward to the connections I’ll make, the lessons I’m bound to learn and the lives I’ll be able to touch.

Being able to center myself in the quietness of the morning has given me a new sense of peace. I know that I am never guaranteed another morning, so when I wake and see the sunrise, I am reminded that it’s up to me to decide how I want to go forward into the day. Do I want to live small and quiet or do I want to live bold and brave? As the sun shall rise with it’s burning brightness, so shall I with my inner light.

 

 

Leave a comment